Potential changes to NHS Clinical Commissioning Groups

Patients can share their views on potential changes to how the NHS plans and buys services for people in County Durham and Tees Valley.

There are currently five NHS Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) in the area:

  • NHS Darlington CCG
  • NHS Durham Dales, Easington and Sedgefield CCG
  • NHS Hartlepool and Stockton-on-Tees CCG
  • NHS North Durham CCG
  • NHS South Tees CCG

CCGs commission most of the hospital and community NHS services in the local areas for which they are responsible. Between them, the five CCGs in our area commission services for more than 1.2 million local people.

CCGs have been asked to reduce their running costs by 20 per cent by March 31 2020. Continuing to operate as five separate CCGs may not be possible, due to reductions in staff.

Therefore, a proposal has been made to merge the five CCGs into two, with one covering Durham and the other covering Tees Valley. This would be effective from April 1 2020.

The five current CCGs already operate under a shared management structure, and many existing teams already work across Durham and the Tees Valley, so the merge would not affect frontline services.

The CCGs are keen to gather as much information from as many patients as possible to help shape any future decisions made.

Patients can share their views by completing a quick survey: https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/V5XMG6N.

Please note that the deadline for this survey is July 31 2019.

See attached file for more information on the proposed changes.

Comments Off on Potential changes to NHS Clinical Commissioning Groups

Filed under News

Comments are closed.