Joint Committee of the Southern Collaborative of CCGs

NHS North Durham Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) is a partner of the Joint Committee of the Southern Collaborative of CCGs (the Joint Committee), which was previously known as the Better Health Programme (BHP) Joint Committee.

The Better Health Programme was established in 2015 to build sustainable hospital services.  Learning from the Better Health Programme’s public engagement work on what people value from their hospitals and other NHS services has gone on to form the basis of the next phase of work which is the Clinical Strategy for Hospital Services for the South of the North East and North Cumbria region.

The Clinical Strategy for Hospital Services is overseen by the South Integrated Care Partnership of commissioner and provider NHS organisations across Darlington, Hambleton, Hartlepool, Richmondshire, South Tees, Stockton and Whitby who have come together, working with local authorities, to lead and plan care for their population in a coordinated way.

The Joint Committee is a committee of the following CCGs:

  • NHS Darlington CCG
  • NHS Durham Dales, Easington and Sedgefield CCG
  • NHS Hambleton, Richmondshire and Whitby CCG
  • NHS Hartlepool and Stockton-on-Tees CCG
  • NHS North Durham CCG
  • NHS South Tees CCG

The health leaders across those areas have collectively committed to change the way certain elements of health care is provided to the local populations to deliver the highest quality of care possible within the resources available.  The work is designed to delivery key clinical standards consistently across the patch so that all people receive the highest possible standard of care and best outcomes with more care provided within a community setting.

In addition the CCGs ( with the exception of Hambleton, Richmondshire and Whitby CCG) are working together as a collaborative with a single Accountable Officer and a joint leadership and management  team to strengthen at scale and most importantly locally focused work whilst ensuring delivery of required management efficiencies.

Hambleton, Richmondshire and Whitby CCG are working in a similar way with other CCGs in North Yorkshire.

The Joint Committee itself is a ‘coming together’ of some members of the Governing Bodies of the CCGs outlined above and will make decisions that affect the populations of those CCGs collectively.  The individual Governing Body meetings of the CCGs will continue to make local decisions.

As with the CCG Governing Body meetings, all meetings will be held in public.  In order to register your intention to attend a meeting, please contact Amanda Million, Corporate Administrator on email:, tel: 0191 3898592.

The committee members are as follows:

  • Andrew Atkin, Lay Member North Durham CCG and Durham Dales, Easington and Sedgefield (DDES) CCG
  • Nicola Bailey, Chief Officer Darlington, Durham and Tees CCGs
  • Amanda Bloor, Chief Officer North Yorkshire CCGs
  • Derek Cruickshank, Secondary Care Doctor South Tees CCG
  • Karen Dales, Lay Member, Governance and Audit South Tees CCG
  • Dr Stewart Findlay, Chief Officer Darlington, Durham and Tees CCGs
  • Jean Golightly, Executive Nurse Hartlepool and Stockton-on-Tees (HaST) CCG and South Tees CCG
  • Richard Henderson, Chief Finance Officer North Durham CCG
  • Dr Neil O’Brien, Clinical Chief Officer Darlington, Durham and Tees CCGs
  • Charles Parker, Clinical Chair Hambleton Richmondshire and Whitby CCG
  • Dr Boselaw Posmyk, Clinical Chair HaST CCG
  • Steve Rose Lay Member, Patient and Public Involvement (PPI) HaST CCG
  • Dr David Smart, Clinical Chair North Durham CCG
  • Dr Jonathan Smith, Clinical Chair DDES CCG
  • Dr Janet Walker, Clinical Chair South Tees CCG

Joint Committee of the Southern Collaborative of Clinical Commissioning Groups Terms Of Reference