Changes from April 1 2020

With effect from 1 April, the three Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) across Tees Valley will merge into one CCG.

A single NHS County Durham CCG will be created, replacing NHS Durham Dales, Easington and Sedgefield CCG and NHS North Durham CCG.

At the same time NHS Tees Valley CCG will also replace NHS South Tees CCG, NHS Hartlepool and Stockton-on-Tees CCG and NHS Darlington CCG.

Whilst the new CCGs will retain a focus on local people and local services, the benefits of working across a larger population base with a shared management resource are already being realised and will continue to grow under the new arrangements. This includes:

  • Improvements to the quality of health and care services provided for local people
  • Working with local partners to align health and wellbeing priorities which support the needs of local people
  • Primary Care Networks delivering local clinical leadership and improved health
  • Efficiencies and cost savings which allow for improvements to services

The new CCG Governing Bodies, which will continue to have representation from GP practices, lay membership for public and patient involvement, local clinical leaders and senior managers.

These mergers have been approved by NHS England and NHS Improvement, and sit within the framework outlined in the NHS Long Term Plan.


Supporting documents

Frequently Asked Questions

CCG Proposed Merger – Engagement feedback report – August 2019

CCG Merger Report July 2019